June 10, 2007 The nucleus of Patanjali's Yoga Sutra is an eight-limbed path that forms the structural framework for yoga practice. These eights steps/limbs show us how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. The eight limbs are as followed…

  Yama : Universal morality, Niyama : Personal observances,  Asanas :Body posture,  Pranayama :Breathing exercises, and control of prana, Pratyahara :Control of the senses, Dharana :concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awarenes, Dhyana : Devotion, Meditation on the Divine, Samadhi : Union with the Divine.       
I have decided recently to try to understand yoga on a deeper level. I what to know what these sankrit words mean in english and how can they be practiced in todays world.Today I researched the first limb or path. Yama which deals with ones morals and ethics. A guideline  for  how we should conduct  ourselves in todays world. There are five Yamas which are universal practices that can best be compared to the Golden Rule, "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." The five yamas are:  Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya, and Aparigraha.

Ahimsa: nonviolence "The word ahimsa literally mean not to injure or show cruelty to any creature or any person in any way whatsoever. Ahimsa is, however, more than just lack of violence as adapted in yoga. It means kindness, friendliness, and thoughtful consideration of other people and things. It also has to do with our duties and responsibilities too. Ahimsa implies that in every situation we should adopt a considerate attitude and do no harm." William J.D. Dorian

What better way to practice Ahimsa than at a dance recital which is where I was Saturday,Sunday,and Monday working as part of the stage crew. I was basically a runner. I called dancers up from the dressing rooms, I told them when to go on stage and I scooped up the tiny dancers who did not want to leave the stage. There is a great deal of anxiety, nervousness,and apprehension which has the ability to fuel amazing dramas. From my vantage point all remained calm and some beautiful pictures where created. 

Dance poster

Meg Ballet



This entry was posted in Weblogs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dancers

  1. kateri says:

    These are wonderful little art photos! The one makes me think of Degas, no?
    I have read many books on the yamas and niyamas, and my favourite is Yoga of the Heart. Of course, if we can practive Ahimsa, all the others will fall into place naturally. Ahimsa is the base of everything, right?

  2. Pilar says:

    This is such a wonderful post! I appreciate the fact you are exploring yoga on a deeper level and I love how you are applying this knowledge to the day to day. I agree with the previous comments. These pictures are reminiscent of Degas. The event sounds as if it as just delightful.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s